Michigan in International Competition

Over the last century, the University of Michigan has made its mark in freestyle and Greco-Roman wrestling. Fourteen different athletes and coaches have represented the Maize and Blue at the highest level of international competition, combining for 12 medals — six gold, two silver and four bronze.

Former Wolverine Steve Fraser (’80) became the first American to earn an Olympic medal in Greco-Roman wrestling when he captured gold in the 198-pound division at the 1984 Olympic Games in Los Angeles, Calif. Fraser registered a 5-0 mark en route to the achievement, including a 1-1 criteria decision over Romania’s Ilie Matei in the gold-medal final. Fraser also won gold at the 1983 Pan American Games and was a member of the 1979 and 1982 U.S. World Teams. He was named the 1984 USA Wrestling Athlete of the Year and was a finalist for the James E. Sullivan Award.

Fraser has served as the National Greco-Roman coach since 1995. Under his guidance, the U.S. team claimed the third-place medal at the 2001 World Championships and again in 2006, marking the only U.S. team medals ever at the prestigious event. Fellow Michigan alum Joe Warren (’00) captured the 60 kg/132-pound gold medal at the 2006 World Championships, where he rallied to defeat Georgia’s David Bedinadze, 1-1, 4-1, 2-1, to become just the fifth American wrestler to win a Greco-Roman world title.

Michigan Wrestlers at the Olympic Games, World Championships and World Cup:

Year Wrestler, wgt. Place
1928 Robert Hewitt, 123.5 5th place
Ed George, Hwt 4th place
1932 Carl Dougovito, 158 dnp
1948 Cliff Keen, Coach
2008 Andy Hrovat, 185 dnp
Year Wrestler, wgt. Place
1980 Mark Johnson, 198*
1984 Steve Fraser, 198 GOLD
2004 Steve Fraser, Coach
2008 Steve Fraser, Coach
* Did not compete due to U.S. boycott
Year Wrestler, wgt. Place
1961 Mike Rodriguez, 147.5 5th place
1986 Joe McFarland, 136.5 SILVER
1990 Kirk Trost, 220 BRONZE
2003 Jehad Hamdan, 211.5 dnp
2006 Andy Hrovat, 185 dnp
Year Wrestler, wgt. Place
1963 Dennis Fitzgerald, 171.5 dnp
1970 Bill Davids, 114.5 dnp
1979 Steve Fraser, 198 dnp
1982 Steve Fraser, 198 dnp
2005 Joe Warren, 132 9th place
2006 Joe Warren, 132 GOLD
Year Wrestler, wgt. Place
1987 Kirk Trost, 220 GOLD
1988 Joe McFarland, 136.5 BRONZE
1990 John Fisher, 136.5 5th place
1991 Kirk Trost, 220 BRONZE
1992 Kirk Trost, 220 dnp
1993 John Fisher, 136.5 SILVER
Kirk Trost, 220 5th place
1994 Kirk Trost, 220 dnp
1997 John Fisher, 138.75 GOLD
2007 Andy Hrovat, 185 dnp
Year Wrestler, wgt. Place
1980 Mark Johnson, 198 BRONZE
1983 Steve Fraser, 198 4th place
2004 Joe Warren, 132 4th place
2007 Joe Warren, 132 GOLD